CMS - Preparedness

The CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule

On September 16, 2016, the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare published a final rule on emergency preparedness for healthcare providers.  The rule serves to establish national, consistent emergency preparedness requirements for 17 different providers participating in Medicare and Medicaid.  The CMS Preparedness Rule dictates that all 17 provider types must develop and maintain a comprehensive emergency preparedness program that contains the following:  an Emergency Plan, Emergency Preparedness Policies and Procedures, a Communications Plan, and an Emergency Preparedness Training and Testing Program.  Specific provider types have additional requirements.

The 17 specific provider and supplier types affected by the CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule are:

  • Hospitals
  • Religious Nonmedical Health Care Institutions (RNHCIs)
  • Ambulatory Surgical Centers (ASCs)
  • Hospices
  • Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities (PRTFs)
  • All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE)
  • Transplant Centers
  • Long-Term Care (LTC) Facilities
  • Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID)
  • Home Health Agencies (HHA)
  • Comprehensive Outpatient Rehabilitation Facilities (CORFs)
  • Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)
  • Clinics, Rehabilitation Agencies, and Public Health Agencies as Providers of Outpatient Physical Therapy and Speech-Language Pathology Services (“Organizations”)
  • Community Mental Health Centers (CMHCs)
  • Organ Procurement Organizations (OPOs)
  • Rural Health Clinics (RHCs) and Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
  • End-Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Facilities

CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule Resources


The “Guidelines for Healthcare Agency Emergency Preparedness” course below will register you as a coalition member and you can find the certificate of completion in the achievements section of the course.Upon completion of the “Guidelines for Healthcare Agency Emergency Preparedness” course, click on your course library to view the resources available by CMS provider type.

CMS Guidelines for Healthcare Agency Emergency Preparedness

Webinar: CMS Preparedness Rules

The International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) USA Healthcare Caucus is excited to announce its second webinar in partnership with Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on the Emergency Preparedness Final Rule. The webinar was held on Tuesday, April 24, 2018 from 1 pm to 2pm, EST. Caecilia (Cece) Blondiaux with the Quality, Safety & Oversight Group (QSOG) from CMS. Ms. Blondiaux will provided a recap and updates on the final rule.  Ms. Blondiaux also highlighted and discussed key areas where CMS is seeing an increased number of deficiencies as related to the final rule.  Use the link to listen to the recording. (Link

State of Texas Emergency Assistance Registry (STEAR) Program

The State of Texas Emergency Assistance Registry (STEAR) program is a free registry that provides local emergency planners and emergency responders with additional information on the needs in their community. Texas communities use the registry information in different ways. Registering yourself in the STEAR registry DOES NOT guarantee that you will receive a specific service during an emergency. Available services will vary by community.

Click here to learn more.

Click here for assisted living facilities and nursing home registration.


CMS has developed the new Emergency Preparedness Training Online Course which is available online 24/7. This course is required for all State Survey Agency and Regional Office surveyors and reviewers who conduct or review health and safety or LSC surveys for emergency preparedness requirements. Non-survey professionals involved in and responsible for ensuring compliance with regulations are also encouraged to take the course.

Surveyor Training


This document provides the State Operations Manual Appendix Z- Emergency Preparedness for All Provider and Certified Supplier Types Interpretive Guidance.

Interpretive Guidance for State Operations Manual

Health Sector Emergency Preparedness (HSEP) Course

The FEMA Center for Domestic Preparedness (CDP) in collaboration with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response’s Division of National Healthcare Preparedness Programs has developed a one-day, 8-hour Health Sector Emergency Preparedness Course. The course is designed to provide training to health care providers and suppliers in the achievement of the four core elements outlined in the September 2016 Emergency Preparedness Requirements for Medicare and Medicaid Participating Providers and Suppliers Final Rule.

More information to come on future courses.


TRACIE was created to meet the information and technical assistance needs of regional ASPR staff, healthcare coalitions, healthcare entities, healthcare providers, emergency managers, public health practitioners, and others working in disaster medicine, healthcare system preparedness, and public health emergency preparedness. This page provides links to resources that can help provider and suppliers comply with the recently released Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Emergency Preparedness Rule.


How NCTTRAC Can Help

Regional Emergency Preparedness Committee

  • Click here to join the Regional Emergency Preparedness Committee (REPC) mailing list

HCC Planning Subcommittee

Emergency Medical Task Force 2 (EMTF-2) Subcommittee)

Training & Exercise (T&E) Workgroup


NEXT DATE: TBD WHO SHOULD ATTEND: Long Term Care facilities, Nursing Homes, Assisted Living Centers, Dialysis Centers, and any facility that NOW falls under the new CMS Emergency Preparedness Rule.

WHY SHOULD I ATTEND: Review of the new CMS Emergency Preparedness rules and strategies to meet them.* Coalition involvement. Hands-on workshops to review Emergency Operations Plans and Communications Plans, recommended components, and much more!

WHAT SHOULD I BRING: Emergency Operations Plan and Communications Plan *This workshop is NOT intended to be a course which will guarantee compliance with Conditions of Participation (CoPs) or Conditions for Coverage (CfC).